Massachusetts Child Support Calculator

Custodial Parent
Non-Custodial Parent
Number of children under 18 years*
Gross Weekly Income*
Weekly Child care cost paid
Weekly Health care cost paid
Weekly Dental/vision insurance cost paid
Weekly Other support obligations paid
Disclaimer: This child support calculator is for informational purposes only. The Court will decide itself how much of child support you’ll have to pay or receive. Our calculator try to take into consideration as many factors as possible, and is made based on the most recent Guidelines, but the Court will set the final amount.

To use the child support calculator, select or enter the appropriate information next to each statement.

All children have the right to be financially supported by their parents. It does not matter if the parents were never married, are separated or got divorced. Child support is a court-ordered payment that goes towards raising children. In the state of Massachusetts, such obligations usually last until a child is 18. However, it is possible for child support to be paid until the child is 20 years old if he or she is still attending high school.

Requesting Child Support in Massachusetts

There are several ways that child support can be agreed upon in Massachusetts. The parents can ask a judge to approve an agreed-upon support order during a divorce or other family law proceeding. Most cases are started by submitting an Application for Full Child Support Services to the Department of Revenue office.

The Department can help locate a ‘missing’ non-custodial parent and determine paternity for any children born outside legal marriage. In addition to this, the Department is able to help with the collection and distribution of child support, determining child support obligations, and then enforcing them.

What Services are Available?

Here are the services that a parent or the guardian of a child can apply for:

  • Establishing a child support order for a child younger than 18
  • Enforcing past-due child support that is owed under a court order
  • Determining paternity for a child younger than 18
  • Collecting and enforcing existing child support orders
  • Making changes to a child support order for a child younger than 18

Child Custody in Florida

The State of Florida provides Guidelines to calculate the amount of child support that must be provided. The “Joint custody” or “Time-sharing” of child support in Florida depends on the calculations as per these Guidelines.

The calculations following the Guidelines consider several factors: each party’s income, the number of overnights, the cost of childcare, payment of insurance. All these factors play a crucial role in determining whether a party has to pay for child support. These calculations also pave the way for the Court to decide whether to allow joint custody or not.

Calculation of Child Support

There are support guidelines that are enacted by the state that determines child support amounts. A judge will use a rather complicated mathematical computation to calculate a child support formula. The most important factors influencing the child support amount are parental income, medical insurance costs, social security benefits, and daycare expenses. The child’s living arrangements are also taken into account.

With our simplified approach, you can calculate an approximate amount for child support. Easily get an idea of the amount with our Massachusetts child support calculator.

What’s Included in a Support Order?

The expenses included in a child support order are basic education, health insurance, food, clothing, shelter, extraordinary medical expenses, visitation travel costs and extracurricular activities.

How to Recieve Child Support?

A parent who must receive child support payments can have it deposited into their bank account directly. It is also possible to have payments made to a Child Support Card account. It is no longer common practice for checks to be issued, but you can qualify for a possible exemption.

Can a Non-Custodial Parent change the Child Support Order if the child is living with them?

As mentioned earlier, a child support order can be modified with prior approval from the Court. The Court will have to be advised about the time-sharing schedule change. This is necessary in cases where the child is spending more time and lives with the non-custodial parent than the custodial parent. In such instances, the amount of child support will have to be recalculated. The new amount is calculated considering the changing number of overnights, which changes the amount of child support. The new amount replaces the existing amount after recalculations.

When Will Child Support Payments End?

In Massachusetts, child support payments will end when:

  • The child turns 18. There is an exception if the child still depends on the custodial parent. For example, when the child is employed full time, joined the military or moved into their own place, he or she is no longer dependent.
  • The child turns 21, unless the child is part of a full-time undergraduate college program.
  • The child turns 23, with the exception of a disabled adult who is under guardianship.